BBJ's 2015 Healthcare Heroes

healthcareheroesThe Boston Business Journal today announced its 2015 Healthcare Heroes, which honors those who have worked tirelessly to improve the overall health and wellness of those living in Massachusetts and beyond.

The 14 award winners (see list below) will be will be featured in a special section in the BBJ on Aug. 14.

"The Boston Business Journal is impressed with the amazing talent of the medical community here in Massachusetts and we're excited to be able to share their inspiring stories," said Boston Business Journal Publisher Gale Murray. "Congratulations to all the 2015 Healthcare Heroes."

2015 BBJ Healthcare Heroes

Volunteer: Audrey Reny on behalf of Brigham and Women's Hospital; and Carla Gomes on behalf of the Joslin Diabetes Center

Researcher: Diana Bianchi, Executive Director of the Mother Infant Research Institute at Tufts Medical Center

Educator: Melinda Maryniuk, Director of Clinical and Education Programs at the Joslin Diabetes Center; and Joel Katz, Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program at Brigham and Women's Hospital

Advocate: Lynn Nicholas, President and CEO of Massachusetts Hospital Association

Outreach: Carla Fogaren, Director of Diversity Initiatives, Interpreter Services and ADA Coordination for Steward Health Care

Innovator: Lloyd Aiello, Professor of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School, Vice Chair for Centers of Excellence and Associate Chief of Longwood Ophthalmology at Harvard Department of Ophthalmology, Director of the Beetham Eye Institute and Head of Eye Research at Joslin Diabetes Center; and Adam Landman, Chief Medical Information Officer for Health Information Innovation & Integration at Brigham and Women's Hospital

Non-physician provider: Stephanie Shine, clinical nurse in the Brigham and Women's Hospital's Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Physician provider: Thea James, attending physician in the Emergency Department at Boston Medical Center; and Andrea Mckee, oncologist at Lahey Hospital & Medical Center and Director of Lahey's Rescue Lung, Rescue Life Program

Executive: Eric Schultz, President and CEO of Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Lifetime achievement: Ed Benz, President and CEO of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute